At Basin Electric, our focus is the person at the end of the line. Our member-owners are the reason we exist. That's the co-op difference.

Rural electric cooperative pioneers in the Missouri River basin created Basin Electric in 1961 to provide supplemental wholesale power to their distribution cooperatives. Basin Electric's growth and success during the past 50-plus years is due to the commitment, support, and resolve of these visionary co-op leaders and their consumers.

Basin Electric's 11-member board of directors are elected by our members. These directors have been elected to the boards of their local distribution systems and then, with the exception of District 9, to their respective intermediate generation and transmission systems. Many of our Class A members are generation and transmission (G&T) electric cooperatives.

membership map

Our service area

Cooperative principles

The co-op difference

Original incorporators